Thank You to Our Supporters!

On behalf of the board, staff, and volunteers of the Medicare Rights Center, we thank you for helping us celebrate our Annual Awards Dinner on October 22, 2018. This year, on this special occasion, we honored a group of individuals and an organization that have provided innovative, high-quality and comprehensive medical care to Medicare beneficiaries and others, and who have also worked tirelessly to improve the health care system for all of us.

We were truly privileged to honor Dr. Oliver Fein, not only for the excellent care he provides and his commitment to excellence in medical education, but also for his passionate fight to ensure that all Americans have access to comprehensive, affordable health coverage. We celebrated the work of the Mount Sinai Visiting Doctors Program and its visionary founders and leaders – Dr. David Muller, Dr. Jeremy Boal, Dr. Laurent Adler, and Dr. Linda DeCherrie. Their simple but bold concept – meeting and treating patients where they are in their homes – has helped catalyze the growing movement towards in-home physician services, while dramatically improving care for their patients and their families. We also saluted the Actors Fund for their commitment to the well-being of the performing arts community through the creation of programming for people with Medicare and the recent opening of The Samuel J. Friedman Health Center (with Mount Sinai Doctors) in the heart of the New York City Theater District. And we were grateful to give special recognition to one of our outstanding volunteers, Beth Abbott, for her years of dedicated service to thousands of our clients.

For 29 years, the Medicare Rights Center has worked to ensure access to affordable health care for older adults and people with disabilities through our multilingual, national consumer helpline, state-of-the art online educational resources ( and MI Pro), and our public policy initiatives. This year, we answered 3 million questions about Medicare and health care from people with Medicare, their families, and the professionals serving them. We are committed to finding lasting solutions to systemic problems that prevent people from accessing needed health coverage and care and we could not accomplish any of our work without you.

Thank you, friends of Medicare Rights, for your generosity that helps make our work possible!


Joe Baker


Richard Park, M.D.

Joe Baker
President Emeritus, Medicare Rights Center

Special Recognition:

Jane Margaretten-Ohring
Volunteer, Medicare Rights Center

Mandarin-Oriental80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street

Monday, October 21, 2019
6:00 – 9:00 P.M. Eastern Time

Business Attire

For more information:

Tickets and Sponsorships


Independent Care System Staff - ICS

Rick Surpin
Independence Care System
Read biography –>


Dr. Robert J. Master
President & CEO Emeritus
Commonwealth Care Alliance
Read biography –>

Special Recognition:

Edith Cresmer

Honorary Chairs:

Senator Charles E. Schumer
Senator Kirsten Gillibrand


Bruce C. Vladeck
Kenneth E. Raske
Lee H. Perlman
Jeffrey Krauss
Rob Restuccia
Orla Beggs
Kathy H. Chin
Susan D. DeVore
Edith Everett
Gerry Goodrich
Janella T. Hinds
Alan B. Lubin
Lawrence Madison
Carol Raphael

Board of Directors:

Bruce C. Vladeck, Chair
Kathy H. Chin, Vice Chair
Alan B. Lubin, Treasurer
Marilyn Moon, Secretary
Orla Beggs, Assistant Secretary

Jonathan D. Blum
Curtis L. Cole, MD
Susan D. DeVore
Edith Everett
Gerry Goodrich
Janella T. Hinds
Peter Hutchings
Jeffrey R. Krinsk
Lawrence Madison
Susan E. Phillips
Carol Raphael
Donna Regenstreif
Herman Rosen, MD

Joe Baker, President